The cooperation of 18 countries

The Central European Initiative (CEI) was established in 1989 with the aim of strengthening good-neighbourly relations and to develop manifold cooperation between their respective countries and also of working for cohesion of a united Europe, without dividing lines, a Europe with shared values, embracing all countries, regions, peoples and citizens of the continent.

Nowadays, there are 18 member states particpating in CEI, in 9 areas of activity:

  • climate, environment and sustainable energy
  • development of enterprises in the field of tourism
  • development of human resources
  • IT society and media
  • multimodal transport
  • intercultural cooperation with minorities
  • science and technology
  • sustainable agriculture
  • interregional and cross-border cooperation

The annual financial frame of CEI is 2.9 million euros, from which 1.6 million euros can be spent for projects. The deadline of tenders is approximatley May 2012.

Contact persons: Szilágyiné Bátorfi Edit, deputy head of department/ CEI national coordiantor, II. European Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Heizer Antal, ambassador, CEI deputy national coordiantor, II. European Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Tel.: 4581372, Fax.: 4581639, E-mail: DOwIbIiPhBJc80EzjZjyMQUhlaXplckBtZmEuZ292Lmh1